Skip to content

Introducing the Less Fat/More Phat Weight Loss Challenge!

February 28, 2011

I’m fat.  240 pounds so.  And I don’t like it.

It was not all that long ago that I lost 60 pounds in about eight months.  I did it with a combination of the Weight Watchers program my wife was on and a lot of exercise bike riding.  I was looking good.  I was feeling good.  I was even told that I was someone’s inspiration to lose 25 pounds of his own.  Times were great.  Pep was in my step.

And then my wife got pregnant (the timing of which is really not all that coincidental if you think about it).  Gone went the Weight Watchers and in came ice cream, steak tips, and potato skins.  Nine months later my baby daughter came, and while the cravings my wife had went away, so did any extra time to make a nice dinner.  Up and up the weight went.

Out of the 60 I had lost, I had gained back 35.  Yikes.  It became time to make a change.

I can’t ride the bike as frequently now thanks to my recent attempted tackle of a Jets fan, but hopefully I’ll be able to soon.  In the meantime, it’s all about the diet.  And here’s where the blog comes in:

Starting tomorrow I’m going to start tracking my food intake here, for all of you to see.  If I’m good, I can be proud of it.  If I’m bad, FOR PUBLIC SHAME.  In addition, each Sunday I’m going to weigh myself in the hopes that I don’t embarrass myself further.

Because the goal here is not only to get less fat, it’s to become more phat, despite my inherent whiteness.  I invite you to follow along and give me suggestions and encouragement along the way.  All I ask is that you…

Be nice.

–Cap’n Flapjack

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 10:44 pm

    Congratz on the plan.

    I too recently started a blog to not only get support for continuing my weight loss but also to keep me honest and focused once I reach my goal.

    As we have all learned, losing weight is harder but keeping it off is even more difficult.

    Exercise is great but you can also do it on diet alone. I really haven’t done too much exercise. I didn’t start until September then quit by December when the weather turned cold.

    It makes you healthier, but in the long run, you can lose weight on diet alone if you are injured and can’t hit the bike anymore.

    Good luck! 😀

Leave a comment